After the Rain….Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer…

Image

Where does my Creativity go when not creating?
It wanders around in my head, like smoke in a room, looking for an open window to slither out of…a song….a teardrop…a rumble of thunder, always there….always seeking a path of any kind to find its way through to a page, a canvas, a wall, a floor…..anywhere to leave a message or a mark….Just to say….I am

              She waited for her mother to leave for her 16 hour midnight shift, pretending to be obedient and submissive, at 15 it was hard to be contained, it felt more like jail.  After Mother left she waited for an hour to make sure There would be no returns having forgotten anything, and then she walked out her front door.

          The cold darkness enveloped her in its embrace, as she imagined a loving parent would, welcoming their child home. she shivered a moment as she adjusted to the climate change, and then began to walk after lighting a forbidden cigarette. The shadows were her favorite companions In a world with no friends, Small town community’s  Never let strangers feel “welcome”.

         Her eyes adjusted to the shadows, and she found a new slab of payment to pay homage to, with desperation walking in front of her like a big brother,  rejection and anger keeping company on either side of her, she hoped the miles would eat up some of the loneliness she felt as she fought to stay sane in an unstable life.    She knew that loneliness would keep her company long after the others had left…..

THIS My dears, was me at the age of 15….I don’t know if I COULD turn it into a book, but OH the stories in my life…..would rival some good movies out there! Hope you enjoyed even though it seemed  grim…. 😉

 

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to After the Rain….Ramblings of a Wannabe Writer…

  1. melanie says:

    please keep writing….

    just do it.

    🙂

    thank you for sharing this…if there’s one thing i’ve re-discovered since i started writing again, it’s that the words have a power all their own and you never can tell where the ripples will take you.

    xo

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Mel, This Blogging is helping a lot, as My inner Critic cant stop me from short spurts, and the more I do it the more I get away with! I really love (what I call) painting with words, I want whomever reads my writing like this, to be able to feel or see or hear…you know? its kind of intoxicating for me to find the breath of a word, and make it exhale and inhale with every sentence! Im glad you enjoyed it!

  2. What beautiful imagery! I could have written some of it about myself at 15-16.

  3. Wendy Juhl says:

    Wannabe writer? You have talent. Write and write and write some more. Go for it! I used to write poetry, short stories and even a novel. I later shredded the novel. I didn’t like it anymore when it came to revising time. I think that’s why painting works better for me. When the painting is done, it’s done. I don’t like to do the exact same thing twice. Thanks for sharing your story. Wendy

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Wendy! I have written poetry, but only the kind that rhymes comes easy to me, and I have many times tried novels, but the farthest I have ever gotten is around 3? pages? I might be able to do more if I keep blogging though, I hope it gets better and better, Just like my drawing and art journaling has! I don’t care if I ever make a penny as long as I can keep it all alive!!

Leave a Reply

