Broken Hearted?

Unfortunately I was not able to post for the last couple of days, After the Stress test, The results required a Heart Catherization, and that took place today.  I Had Wonderful Nurses, and Fabulous Doctors!  But here, Let me take you with me a little bit….

So I had a Doctors appointment on Thursday, and when we talked he said that the stress test showed that I was not getting enough blood to the bottom of my heart, and he needed to see if I had a blockage = a Heart Catherization. So I was admitted right from the doctors office, and I came home to pack my overnighters , and took along my art journal, hospitals are really not very entertaining…..So we arrived and went to admitting…..after which we had to sit and wait for someone to take me up to my room.  As we sat waiting we heard the lullaby music play over the hospital speakers….I tilted my head and said out loud “why are they playing that?” Dave said “I bet a baby was just born!” and so I asked, and sure enough, they play it EVERY time a baby is born, how sweet is that? and through the whole hospital too!

Still we sat….And then a man came into admitting….close to where we were, He smelled just like my brother. I soon heard a man say that he was an inpatient at Pathways which is a rehab type of hospital/free clinic. I know now what addiction “smells” like. I thought It was just my brother….but wow, I never imagined that your pores could tell on you.

Finally we went up to my room, Wow! on the 7th floor! here is what he window view looked like from “my” eyes!

My Window view

I sent my husband home, as there was nothing he could do but be bored, and soon after the brigade came, to poke, prod, and squeeze me every hour or two. I had a man nicknamed Wa-Wa Put in my IV as none of the nurses could find a vein which would be acceptable for the job ahead, and he did find one, my arms were somewhat swollen from water retention which made it more difficult. They even let me keep my own clothes until the next morning! Here is my Bed View..Blah right?

My view from the bed

I got bored so I drew a picture while I sat there, here she is.

Hospital Drawing

The next morning was busy, getting ready for the test, where they take you for xrays when your in a bed, they park the bed in a holding area and if you look at the ceiling ( you are in a bed after all) each spot has Lighthouse ocean painted tile, how neat! I couldn’t see the name clearly enough, but they made some pretty pictures and it made being parked there a little nicer!

Now it was time for  the Catherization, so they  give you some “relaxing” medication before they take you there, and then when you get in the room you switch beds,, next they prepare you with tarps and the like, all the super clean O.R. detailing, next you get some shots of something that makes you not really care about anything….don’t know what it was….”didn’t care” (LOL), Once you have that they give you shots to numb your wrist, (yes if at all possible they now go through the wrist) and then it felt as if someone poured HOT water in my hand….that was the dye…..wow! then I could feel my heart flutter a bit and I knew that it was the camera scooting around in my heart! It never hurt, and I was awake for the whole procedure! Here is a picture of my heart!

Heart

And the Cardiologist said “You have the heart of a 16 year old!” How about that!!  that doesn’t fix the water retention, but it proves I have a “good Heart” and I made up my OWN blood Type! its    I B Positive!  Doc said that makes me pretty YOU NEEK!  Oh….one other absolutely strange thing…….They had to take some extra blood last night for RE testing because my Hematocrit levels were high, and that Usually means you had a blood transfusion, which I didn’t….Or am I “REALLY” a Vampyre?  pretty YOUNEEK Huh!!??  Hope you all have had a WONDERFUL Friday night!! I did, cause now I am Home!!

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Broken Hearted?

  1. fluffyash says:

    So glad you are home safe and yes you are UNEEK! Take care!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Janelle says:

    Well you are sooper dooper special so of course you’re youneek!! Glad you’re fixed up. Beautiful drawing!!

  3. Cynthia Lee says:

    very very sweet about the lullaby music!

    and I love that you took your art journal and drew in it. It obviously hold a space of peace for your. That is truly sacred.

  4. Debbie says:

    First, so very glad to hear that your heart is ok.

    I, too, enjoyed reading about the lullabies – what a lovely tradition. And, maybe a gentle reminder to all that are there for various reasons that good things happen in the hospital, too? Having spent a good bit of time in the hospital myself, the lighthouse tiles made an impression on me, too. What a thoughtful idea! 🙂

    Hoping your day ahead is restful . . .

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Debbie! Yes, Yesterday and today were both restful! I really have no choice. I have to wait 14 days to do anything that I would “normally” do, and Today was my birthday, so I camped on the couch watching “orange is the new black” all day! I myself loved the lighthouses as well! I really Like my Doctor too, its hard to find a doctor you are comfortable with, that really knows you as a person, not just a number.

  5. Deanna Hogan says:

    Glad to hear your procedure went well. Great idea to take your art stuff with you. I work in ER, and I know how BORING it can get waiting*waiting*waiting for things to happen.

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Deanna! My Husband cant stand all the waiting, Or sitting! I figured I would be bored, and Love my art journal, I didn’t write but just drew in it, which ate up some of my time, but once they got started….I got poked and prodded very often, I am glad it is all done now, but I did enjoy the nurses and other staff, and I am always a favorite on the floor because I respect the nurses so I NEVER call them unless its an emergency, and I clean up the room as much as possible before I leave, like yep, I really strip the bed, and put everything the way it was when I got there if at all possible!

  6. Wendy Juhl says:

    Dawn, I’m glad you’re home and that everything went okay. I love the drawing you made. It’s beautiful! Hugs! Wendy

Leave a Reply

