Vanity?

              I started to say I understood, but I don’t….WHY? why  are people, “especially” women, So afraid of wrinkles? or getting older? or looking older? or stating their age? I just don’t get it…….there is not a human in the history of the world that did not “AGE”. So why hide it?  I saw a picture of Cher with Blake Shelton, and her face looks VERY smooth, but it looks like someone stuffed an apple in each of her cheeks? and , OK, your face may look smooth, but then when they show the neck or the hands ect…..you can TELL the person is old….I personally don’t think Old, or Wrinkles, Or aging is bad. I earned every wrinkle I got in life! can anyone fill me in? who are they trying to impress? if its men, that will only work until you take your cloths off, right?  And if all Men want is a young pretty thing, do they think the man wont notice? and if a woman is looking for love, don’t you think that after the Man is around long enough they will realize its not the “real” you? I am just shocked. I see stories of people with two heads, or some other deformity, and then see someone getting chemicals pumped into their face or lips, or surgery to make the wrinkles go away….there is no magic folks, we are born, we age, we pass on. I didn’t make that up either! its true!

                I also had another thing on my mind that sort of related to the subject of aging. I am curious why humans lifespan is in the 100 range….cats can live to around 20 years, dogs 10-20 years, mice 1-2 years, Elephants  40 – 70 years,  African Grey Parrots 30 to 70 years, Horses and or cows 10 to 20 years, parakeets 7 years,  ……..now, all of these creatures are of different sizes, so you cant go by that, and all of them are not mammals, so that is out, Why do humans have a 100 year life span? do you know that an elephant is pregnant for almost 2 whole years? so why don’t hey live for 200 years?  NOW, there is a record of a tortoise that lived to be 188 years old and There is a record of a Koi fish that lived to be 226 years old…..again….how strange? a Tortoise and an Elephant LOOK similar in some ways, but yet the Tortoise live much longer? and then a FISH? really? 226 years?  I am baffled!

           Well….You can tell I ramble about the strangest things, My mind is a wild place to be, then again….I enjoy being inside my head! I started another canvas, and I have a drawing to share, The canvas is similar to the drawing, but will be very different. You will have to wait and see what it looks like when its done! I didnt do anything spectacular today, It was thundering and looked like rain so we didnt go Disc Golfing, I made breaded Pork chops and Green beans. and Now? I am going to play with my frogs and watch a movie, or catch on some series! I hope you all have a nice Tuesday….it is one day closer to the weekend right?!  Yayyyy! 

Image

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vanity?

  1. LYNETTE says:

    Dawn I don’t understand the whole wrinkle thing either. Don’t get me wrong, I have been taught to use a cream on my face since I was young. I remember my grandma and Ponds cream. Only one on the market at that time. Ponds and Jergens…

  2. fluffyash says:

    Love the way you made that teardrop

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. I am 68 and wrinkled and scared (part of the zipper club) and unable to worry about it. I try to put cream on, not because I think the wrinkles will go away, but your skin gets more fragile and tears easier if you don’t. The wrinkles can stay where they are. I earned them.

    Love your face. Been thinking about doing a 1/2 face. Maybe I will try. Yours turned out wonderful. And the tear, well that is just fantastic!

  4. Wendy Juhl says:

    I don’t care what my age is. I’m young at heart. I think my soul is ancient though. LOL! I love your drawing. The detail on the tear is amazing. Hugs! Wendy

  5. dhowell9000 says:

    Thank- you all for your great comments, and for stopping by and reading my blog! I didn’t know I could DO a tear this way! I saw someone Stamp one…..and KNEW I could draw it! wala! its all in the light and the absence of light (shadows) NOW, if I can just shade a face the same way! 😉

Leave a Reply

