Where is Paradise?

I didn’t blog last night, I really didn’t feel well? right? I just felt sort of tired. I think part of it is due to needing the ole B 12 shot (was due on the 9th) and also the weather is changing. I use to think it was from the Ambien, but I can proudly say I hardly take that at all anymore! I do my best to make due with the Tylenol for my back…and if I cant sleep so be it, I will eventually get exhausted and sleep, and if ALL else fails? THEN I will take an Ambien for at least 1 good night sleep!

In the year 2003 My Husband and I took a vacation to the Caribbean, It was our “honeymoon” since we never really had one, and we went to the virgin islands. It was also one of the things on my bucket list! to see the Ocean, and it is a very scary deep place to me. I thought that somewhere out there in the tropical places we went I would find a paradise, one that I had read about, had seen pictures of, imagined. I was so disappointed.  I didn’t find that special place….I waited…on each island I looked, and nothing.  Then I got to thinking…and it took me quite a while (longer than the vacation) to get to that “AHA” moment.

You see……Paradise is not really a place at all, It is a collection. A collection of memories, and of moments that take your breath away, of special seconds that make you laugh until you pee. It is watching your first Grandchild being born and taking its first breath. It is watching your grown children make great lives for themselves, It comes from the strangers you meet, The exchanged smile, the compliment from a friend, A pet that loves you dearly, The love of a spouse……….All of these and so much more, make a place called Paradise in your Heart and Soul.  It cannot be bought, You cannot get a ticket to get there, You cannot trade for it, But If you live…… and embrace Life, You WILL find your very own Paradise! I did.

Photos from a weekend spent with my sisters in September 2011 at Lake Tawas Michigan by the lighthouse

East Tawas MI Sept 2011

Flowers at the lighthouse in east Tawas 2011

I can shoot Lightning Like a pro now! this is from my front yard!

Lightning in my front yard1

Lightning in my front yard2

This? a puddle of water with Rain falling into it!

Rainy day in my backyard

This was from my backyard!

Backyard sunset

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where is Paradise?

  1. fluffyash says:

    Your photos are beautiful

  2. Love your photos! Tomorrow my daughter and I are going to Old Sacramento and I hope to get some photos. Haven’t been out taking pictures in a long time. Haven’t been out in a long time actually. Wish me luck…with the photos that is.

  3. LYNETTE says:

    Beautiful pictures

Leave a Reply

