Friday the 13th Is Not A Bad Day…….

                Where does superstition come from? where did we first hear that some things are considered “bad luck?” I don’t think my parents ever told me any, but then again I’m not really sure. I heard some of these:

 Don’t let a Black cat cross your path.    Don’t spill salt and if you do toss some over your right shoulder or you’ll have bad luck.    Don’t walk under a ladder.   Don’t step on a crack or you’ll break your mothers back.  Breaking a mirror will give you seven years bad luck.     If the bottoms of your feet itch, watch your step, This means you are in danger of falling down.    Don’t Open an umbrella in the house, Umbrellas should be opened outside to avoid bad luck.

           Anyway, my point is, that someone made all of these up, and yet many many people  are really superstitious! I have neighbors that are afraid of my cat, Max. And even I “knock on wood”.  Well today (or yesterday cause I’m writing this late) was Friday the 13th, and Dave and I had a really nice evening out! we played 9 holes of Disc Golf, (we are still rather dodgy at it) and then afterwards we went to a local Pub called Mulligans, they have some really GREAT burgers! And then….. home where we hugged up our doggies! They howl so loud when we pull up it sounds like someone is beating dogs to bits! So Phooey! There cant be any truth to the superstitions…can there? And if not….why do we habitually heed the ones we know?

           I  started a new Canvas, I don’t know what I will call it, but I have not finished it yet, It’s a mixed media, and I used gel medium to adhere some random strips of written paper, and then added some color, I will most likely finish it tomorrow. I  received my Koi Watercolors and my Paintbox to put them in! And I did do a little Whimsical sketch while watching the last few episodes of “Orange is the New Black”.  Yesterday in the mail I received what appears to be a hospital bill of 8,000.00 dollars…..the total bill was 11,000.00, and we DO have health INS., in fact the best one the company offers…so why do WE have to pay so much out of our pocket?? OH….GUESS who is FreaKED out and Irritated??? HMMMMM!? Oh, I was only there for 1 night too by the way.

              My sisters are coming for a “Sisters Weekend”. We have been trying to get together now every year since we are getting older, and all our children are grown. I believe we are set to stay in a chalet for 4 nights not “too” far away from home, that means me and hubby will be apart…..UGHHH! I cant hardly stand being away from him!! even right down the road…. 😦  , I suppose we will make do, this is year 3 for me, I missed the last one. it is usually in Michigan and I fly, but its warmer here and Last year our Christmas in Michigan was Pretty Horrible, to say the least. I even swore I would not “ever” go back…..but maybe….I haven’t hardly spent any time with my grand babies lately….and the twins are 16 months old already, and I have only spent three days with them. But we have too many family members, and they all get mad at us because we didn’t spend “enough” time with them…….good grief….we even tried to split up and each see our families separately and got the schtick all the same! So we just said if they want to see us they know where we are! but to be fair Dave’s parents are 81, and its too far for them to come here. But His mom is one of the ones who gets really mad. I know she wants to spend time with her son, but we want to see our kids and grand kids too……..ahhhhhhhh well, This is life, No?

        So I leave you now with a few photos, and will return again tomorrow with some more of a day in the life…. Happy Weekend Y’all!!

Image

Image

Image

 

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday the 13th Is Not A Bad Day…….

  1. Wendy Juhl says:

    I love your artwork. I don’t have a lot of superstitions. Personally, Friday the 13th and having black cats cross my path is good luck for me. At least it has been many times before. My fave number is 13 and my second fave is 9. My main superstition is “knock on wood”. I don’t really think about the rest. Have a great weekend! Hugs! Wendy

Leave a Reply

