Where Did It Go? And How Do I Get It Back?

I haven’t been sleeping very well the last few nights, although I have tried. The weather is changing and having its way with my sinuses and lung dysfunctions. I have a lot of art on the table that needs attention, but I have been dragging my feet, I have no idea why.

I think that Procrastination plays a mean role in my life,  I do however get other stuff done. I always keep the house straight, the lawn mowed, the dishes done, the laundry is done every time I have enough for a load. So its not a lazy thing, its something entirely different.  And its not fear, because some of the things I have done before. I have these books I have paid for a commercial license to make, and they come out so nice, and I have had people offer me money for them, I have two almost complete…..ALMOST. and with Christmas coming….I could probably sell a ton! they are scrapbooks but with a TON of  “REAL ESTATE” meaning with only 8 or 9 pages you could probably get 100 or more photos in there. If you have never heard of Kathy Orta, check her out on YouTube  with the Build A Page example

AND I have even thrown in my own versions of flips and things. I also have some Home Made Journals in the works, made with 9×12 canson 140 pound Watercolor paper, 30 pages in each one! I also have some other journals made with 110 pound card stock. I also have journaling cards and other goodies to add to the journals so they are sort of like Smash books, if so desired. So I don’t know why I put off finishing this stuff.

I got my b 12 shot yesterday at Kroger, It takes a few days to kick in fully, but with the lack of sleep, I still fell pretty tired today. I need to get on the ball though, My sisters are coming in a few weeks and I want to send back the painting I am doing for my son.

THIS is how it happens I get an “Art” bug in my skin…..and I start Creating like mad! BUT if I get interrupted? its like popping a balloon. I don’t know if anyone but artists feel this, but if I have to stop, and cook dinner? its pretty much over. Does anyone know why this happens? I just feel deflated…or robbed of the raw drive that had me painting….It a rush, but if its disturbed it takes me days sometimes weeks to get it back…why is that?

Well if anyone knows, or can help me with the answers to getting BACK the raw drive a little faster…..Please, share?  Well, for now? I am going to have some more coffee, Try to get my mojo going for the day, and create? or maybe finish one of my many projects? Here is a photo of a very MINI book I am making, I sold the first one so fast it was a wow moment! I didn’t think anyone would want a book so small! Its a 3×3 inch mini album tutorial I found on YouTube:

I hope everyone’s Saturday is a nice one! Enjoy the little things!

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Did It Go? And How Do I Get It Back?

  1. Wendy Juhl says:

    Good luck, Dawn! I listen to music while I create, so when I’m not feeling like getting back to creating, I play music and pretty soon I can’t not create. I kind of conditioned myself that music = art time. The other thing that works for me is thinking of all the possibilities for a project until I have to work on it. I hope this helps. Hugs! Wendy

  2. dhowell9000 says:

    Thanks Wendy, I usually use the music as well, but I have been in a slight Slump lately….not sure why…Maybe because I know my sisters are coming = my brain floods with all the things I WANT to get done before they get here = Overwhelming FREEZE! I am pretty sure that’s it….

Leave a Reply

