HEY! What Happened?

Do you ever think it? say it? Wonder it? I follow some extraordinary people online, and sometimes I forget that “they” have lives as well. Things Happen, Sometimes circumstances change, and maybe….sometimes “They” change. Which is one of the reasons I will never sign a contract regarding art, not even for a Million Dollars. I cant “force” whatever it is that drives my soul, to paint, draw or create, in fact, the harder I try….the more I stray from what I love the most, creating. I have been learning to find that “place”, you know, the one by the babbling brook, with a soft blanket on the ground, surrounded by blooms of every color and shape, the sound of water gurgling off to an unknown destination, Just enough breeze, and Just enough sunshine to make the it the perfect “place” to be when you need a moment of introspection.  I have been finding a sweet solace, a peace that feels better than being on Effexor ever made me feel.

I hadn’t made any art related anything in weeks, then out of nowhere I have two show up. I rarely ever use a model, or subject……I almost ALWAYS start my eyes first….when doing a face anyway. I have heard that it can mess up a piece? or maybe that its just easier to do the stick figure or bones first……but I think I put a piece of my soul in the eyes….that’s what I think makes it all come together….I let my soul guide what happens on the paper….I let the eyes “make” the Character On the page…..I dont  have anything in particular in mind when I start. It just happens, and it feels GREAT when it happens. I would imagine the same for a songwriter, or an actor/actress, or a writer……photographer….any type of artist, That Moment when you can step “away” and say……..Ahhhhhhhh!!  There WE Go!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Wisdom”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Opportunity”

 

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to HEY! What Happened?

  1. fluffyash says:

    Really unusual and wonderful faces

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I love your faces! The first one looks like my granddaughter! LOL Keep doing what you’re doing because you make wonderful faces 🙂

  3. Viv says:

    Love these! I know exactly how you feel, sometimes inspiration is hard to find.

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Viv! I have so many thing going on at once in my body and mind, its hard to find those “moments” that we need. The ones that help us RE-charge for the day to day. I am blessed to not have to work, at least for now. I can take those moments and run with them if the happen to come along spur of the moment!

  4. Tia says:

    I love these! The eyes are expressive and I love the swirly rainbow colored hair!

  5. dhowell9000 says:

    Thanks Shirley! I have been asked to draw Portraits, but I dont thing I can do that yet, all these girls are coming from my imagination, but I think its awesome when someone “DOES” see a resemblance! Oh and at the moment? “OBSESSED” with making Faces….no worries!!

Leave a Reply

