WHAT? Something that you NEVER get used to…….

I received some news late yesterday evening . My Ex Husband, father of my two sons, Was tragically killed in a car accident Monday evening on his way home from work (11/25/13) .  At first….total shock……He spent most of his life until recently in Prison, so I really didn’t “know” him anymore, But My boys have his DNA, they were “curious” but scared to meet him due to his past, not knowing if he would bring Chaos into their life, They were afraid to risk meeting him and getting to know him. How Sad, and Yes, Tragic. He Was 19 When our first son was born and named after him, and He was 21 when Our Second son was born. He saw his first son at 3 month of age, and never met his second son.  They are now 31 and 29. Too many years of not knowing.

You never get used to the “death” call, knock, ect…. It always makes me feel……strange, like its not real.  My Sister, Bless her heart and Soul, got I believe 6 within 3 months, and they were all close family on her husbands side. How do you live through that many knocks? or Calls?  It scared me to think that if someone “knocked” on my door I didnt really know what my husband would want…..we sort of talked about it, but no one is really ever “ready” are they?

ON To Better news……I went and got my mom again So she wont have to spend Thanksgiving alone, She will be here until Saturday.  I also had a “visit” from my deceased father, He spent the whole night showing me his childhood, and that he was in fact in pain when he died. (he was found dead 3 days after the fact) But that it was ok.  Strangely? My Fathers Birthday was the 24th Of November and I had forgotten to Say Happy Birthday to him…..He had cirrhosis of the liver and emphysema , and it was the difficult breathing that got him.

I will be cooking a small Cornish Hen Dinner, with stuffing and Green bean Casserole, Pumpkin Pie for Desert!! And then Friday I plan on making some homemade Cards, maybe My mom will Join me!! Shoot, its the only time of the year you can “see” my kitchen Table!!

If I don’t get back to the page before Thursday, Happy Thanksgiving To all, And remember to be grateful for every day you have, You never know when its your last, or your loved ones last, let them know that they are loved and appreciated as well. Don’t put it off or you may not get the chance.

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Dear Empath...... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WHAT? Something that you NEVER get used to…….

  1. Maria says:

    You are so right! Death is all around us so we have to enjoy every single moment qith our loved ones. Funny that most of the time we scream at each other…! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      We often take for granted that what we “plan” for each day will actually happen, but in life nothing is promised, we need to learn to be thankful each morning we get to wake up, and each night we get to climb into our warm beds….Happy Thanksgiving to you as well Maria!

  2. So sorry. This must be a strange feeling for your sons. Loosing a father they never really knew. We certainly do need to appreciate every day and make sure the people we love know how much they mean to us. Happy Thanksgiving to you too.

  3. Diane says:

    so sorry Dawn I know you feel your sons pain ♥♥♥♥♥ u
    try to have a happy thanksgiving.wish I could make cards with ya♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

