Mindful……

The Post that I re-blogged had a sentence that kind of stuck with me….this one…..”Savoring a warm cup of hot chocolate/tea/coffee, drinking each sip mindfully“.

What does “mindfully” mean? =

Mindfulness means maintaining a moment-by-moment awareness of our thoughts, feelings, bodily sensations, and surrounding environment.

Mindfulness also involves acceptance, meaning that we pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them—without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment. When we practice mindfulness, our thoughts tune into what we’re sensing in the present moment rather than rehashing the past or imagining the future.

Now….I have  for some years now….been doing some things mindfully, from time to time….like when I eat something particular I imagine it growing, then being harvested, then the taste as I nourish my body with it…..It makes me appreciate what it is that I am eating or drinking, and to do it with care and gratitude, that someone grew this and now I am lucky enough to eat or drink it!

So that has been sitting with me…Mindful…..I have been going through the last few days…Mindful of my breath, of what I am eating, and drinking….. and it feels good in some odd way….to really think about a cup of coffee….and everything that happened before it got “into” my cup.

I have a Ruthless past, and yet….I feel it trickling away……not even existing…..its so long gone that none of it matters…..and its such a good feeling?! letting “this moment” be THE moment…the only one……

Sometimes its not so easy, but like with most things? the more I do it the easier it gets…..and the better I feel!

Today? in My Nutribullet?

prunes, cranberries, goji berries, Acai Juice 2 tbsps, chia seeds, spinach, kale, chard, banana WITH the peel, wedge of lemon WITH the rind, almonds, almond milk, and frozen mixed berries.  The amounts I use of each are small, so as to fit them all in without over filling my mixer/bullet. the taste? today a bit “green”? as I used more green as I felt I needed that today.

I hope your Monday was a pleasant one! and if not? Hold on, tomorrow is another day!

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

