It’s Hard Not To Hide…….

Day 6 for me on my Blog Along…..

I had to run to the store today, to get more almond milk for my Nutri -blasts. Having spent the whole day trying to re organize a bunch of my supplies, I was a bit disheveled and dusty, I wanted to straiten up, change my clothes….look “presentable”. But I didn’t , I don’t want to pretend anymore, I don’t want to be “pretty” for anyone besides my husband, who thinks I’m perfect just the way I am at any given moment.

We get so caught up in this life, where we “THINK” we have to be a certain way to please society….don’t get me wrong…..I don’t want to be unclean, but I shouldn’t have to put on a costume to go to the store.
While I was there….I did happen to see a woman who was orange, with very high poofy white hair, a lot of make-up, high heels….. Now it is possible she had a date or something, but in truth? It looked just like a costume…..

My personal opinion, and that is ALL it is, is that people are prettier when they are un costumed, that’s why kids are so pretty/handsome….they are natural and unworried of what someone might think of them.

20140409-221842.jpg

I also realized I am really getting a nice stack of art journals too! Most of which I made myself! Almost half are almost completely full! I will do a journal flip as soon as I do have one done……or maybe I can do one of all that I have so far?! Anyway, have a cozy and safe night! I’ll be back tomorrow!

20140409-222355.jpg

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s Hard Not To Hide…….

  1. Wow Dawn, this image feels so powerful and intense……love it…

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thanks Sweet Shiva! I have been feeling pretty Intense lately, I suppose that comes with growing older and realizing that mortality is a real thing. So Glad You stopped by!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      I am so Glad You Like my Art, it makes me feel good knowing that it speaks to you in some way! It makes me smile! so Thanks for letting me know Shiva!!

  2. optrixxaris1 says:

    I totally agree with you. It’s like many people put on a mask when they go out. I don’t and tend to only wear it if I’m going to a ball or interview. In going against the grain does this make me someone to be picked on? I am being true to myself and I hate the perfectionist culture which seems to have appeared while others get away with things.

    • dhowell9000 says:

      I have had people in my life, that pretend to be so different. Even to their own husband/wife….I cant be like that, I mean…when I was a kid? I tried so hard to fit in….I got bullied quite a bit, I wasn’t a Jock or a Pothead or even one of the Smart Einsteins….I just didn’t fit in so I made up my mind then? to be the real me…..it didn’t “always” work, but I am always true to me now!

  3. StephRS says:

    This looks awesome! I really enjoy posts about art-journalling, and I really enjoy your blog!

    Is it ok if I nominate you for the Liebster Award??

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Thank You So Very Much Steph! and You May Nominate me, LOL I So enjoy Sharing just for the Joy of it all! I also make all my own Journals, all you need is a hole punch and watercolor paper or heavy card stock!! You can bind it with rings, or with ribbon even!

  4. tndhuff says:

    Popping over from Effy’s blog-along…. I’m smiling softly because I resonate with your thoughts about our costumes…

    • dhowell9000 says:

      I am smiling sofly back, for too often many people dont realize how many of us feel the same way….Thank You for visiting my page, and I hope You find inspiration here. 😉

  5. Elaine says:

    We shouldn’t judge each other. You never know what’s going on in the other persons life. Looking forward to the flip through!

  6. Wendy Juhl says:

    Awesome post, Dawn! I love it. I’m one of those people that just wants to be me and that means i wear what I want and that feels comfortable. If I feel like being all “sparkly”, I’ll wear what goes with my mood. I’m not a fan of makeup, except for my lippy (lip balm, lip gloss, lipstick, etc) obsession. Even so, I don’t feel like I have to wear it. I’d rather be the natural, real me. I love the art journal page you did. It has really powerful imagery and I feel like it’s really profound and in-your-face. Hugs! Wendy

    • dhowell9000 says:

      For the longest time I tried to compete?and Compare myself to the Mindset of “pretty”, but I know now? that I have met beautiful looking people that were not so pretty inside, and folks that were scary looking on the outside? but the warmest, funniest, sweetest people I have EVER met. I Just wish it hadn’t taken so long. Thanks for Reading, and I am HAPPY that you enjoyed it!! These journals are my memoir of My Life Lived. I hope they make it really far in future generations!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      I just gave up wearing anything, it seems that I am allergic to most makeup as well, Funny…someone said that NOT wearing make-up was an excuse, or just kind of lazy….its OK, that is their opinion….but they may have overlooked the fact that some people might not be Able to wear it.I am also allergic to metal….what are most Pants closures made of? and that also means no Jewelry (lucky Hubby!!) Thanks for stopping in, and leaving a beautiful Comment Wendy!

  7. StephRS says:

    Just letting you know I’ve nominated you 🙂 the link and questions for the Liebster award are on my latest post.

    🙂 🙂

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Your so sweet! going to get to the questions on Monday, so I have the weekend with My Sweet Husband! I LOVED you most recent Blog by the way! Phenomenal! and I watched and Subscribed to SoulPancake! thanks for sharing that!!

  8. BubbleArt says:

    Enjoyed your art……..your words speak my truth! Please do a journal fip of what you have already completed….NOW! Happy weekend!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Well thanks Karen! That Made me feel Awesome! I suppose I am close enough to done with more than one journal to make a pretty decent video! I should have it done this week, My Husband is on afternoons this week so perfect time to get it done!

Leave a Reply

