Filling The Void…

Blog 14 of 30 In The Blog Along With Effy Wild!

I am guilty. I look for things to buy…some of them are digital….some of them are kindle books….some of them are I-Pad Apps…..some of them are real Art supplies…..But nothing is enough….its never enough…..I don’t know why.

It’s not like I am an Unhappy person, I have a Wonderful supportive husband, I don’t have to work if I don’t want to, I don’t have my kids at home anymore, but I have my cherished pets, I just don’t know why I feel the need to acquire more things… I am so blessed to have what I DO have….and yet….its not enough.

I know I am trying to fill some void, but I don’t know where the void came from….Is it from NOT having kids around anymore? I don’t think so because I think  I did the same thing back then….I just couldn’t buy as much.

I also noticed that a lot of my friends and family are doing the same thing….Not “everyone”, but many. What is it that we are looking for? What will it really take to make us feel full or whole? Or will we always have that need? that drive to get Just ONE more… Sometimes it even makes me tired, and/or overwhelmed. I think because I don’t know WHAT it is I am looking for. I think I know, And then after I buy “said” thing? I get this disappointed or let down feeling….Like when you think you found a rare coin and it turns out to be a common penny.

I Hope one day I find it….I feel some days as if I have….and then the “need” feeling comes back again…I’m sure its out there somewhere…Or maybe Its in ME somewhere?

A quick Pen sketch on white Card stock.

A quick Pen sketch on white Card stock.

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Filling The Void…

  1. Raine says:

    I can so totally identify with this! There’s always some new shiny toy I have to have. I don’t know where it comes from, either.
    Great choice of song. It’s one of my favorites!

  2. dhowell9000 says:

    Thanks for stopping in Raine! I know so many people who keep “collecting” and personally if I wasn’t careful…like Klair Rhomany posted….I could easily become a Hoarder if I wasn’t careful….. As soon as I heard the song when it first came out I have identified with it! Glad You Came By!

  3. BubbleArt says:

    I fill “unfulfilled” right now too. It is a horrible feeling, but, journaling….both written and visual, and finding other empty souls is helping me! Good luck to you …and me!!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Alas..Now I am setting My sights on a complete set of Spectrum Noir, My poor husband….I don’t think he has any Idea how warped I am, but i really do control it….thanks the stars!!

      • hahahaha my dear Dawn, you are not warped…. you are just you trying to figure out the path you chose, like us all…… no warping involved really….. right?

  4. LYNETTE says:

    Dawn I can relate. I always feel I have to shopping or rearranging a room. Always looking for something to add. On line shopping is the worst, to easy and convenient… I don’t know if the void will ever be filled

    • dhowell9000 says:

      Yes, I feel like I am collecting “too” much in the way of craft supplies, most of it is art related? I don’t know when to say Uncle! I cant seem to help myself…. especially when they say its on SALE??!!

    • dhowell9000 says:

      It’s probably a wise creator that made me a limited income…..I can see me buried in art supplies ……in EVERY color! Weeeeeeeeeeee! Lol!

  5. Today i have this crazy urge to go get supplies, and its like a do or die sort of thing!!!! its like i can never paint again if i dont have this and that….oh man, i so resonate with you on this one… i have not figured out where this need arises from yet…..the worst is that i dont even have SPECIFIC things in mind.. no just you know… thinks from an art shop…. I will try and dig a bit deeper on this one and will definitely let you know if i have other insights…. pls keep me updated on any insights you might have also…maybe we can get to the bottom of this bottomless desire pit….. 😀

  6. dhowell9000 says:

    I know the feeling! I just went and purchased 3 sets of Spectrum Noir Marker sets…..I don’t even know how to use them, only that they are the closest thing to Copics that I will probably ever get! The do blend pretty well on card stock, but they DO bleed through….unless I am doing something wrong…..ANYWAY Yes….I really need to know if there is a way to stop the desire for more supplies…asap? Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

