Old Dogs DO Learn New Tricks!

Blog 20 of 30  “Blog along with Effy Wild!” Only 10 more grueling days till we slow down Readers! But wait? Effy said she is starting over in May….I will do it again if you want…Just send me a Yay or a Nay, Majority Rules! Remember….its 30 whole days folks!

So I didn’t get the freezer paper today to try out my new….”FABRIC Watercolors” but I played anyway. whilst I had fun? I was getting frustrated…but I was also Learning….The Key folks? is to “WALK AWAY”! and come back when you relax a bit! so I can now tell you…that you have to draw….wet…..draw……wet…..to get the watercolor effect, You cannot draw the whole thing and then wet…..it done dried UP! But there you go! if I hadn’t played? I wouldn’t know, right? NEXT!!!  So Its kinda cool, but I am anal about perfection? but am learning to loosen up, so i got carried away, and it should have been a little looser and more scribbled I think, and I also found out how hard it is to draw on a “WET” T- shirt…it wants to move and hump up, and stretch….so take my word folks…go slow, don’t get too anal, make something simple! HERE is my very first  shirt in my class method “Wear Your Watercolor”

I wish I had used a pink? for the manikin....Hindsight.....

I wish I had used a pink? for the manikin….Hindsight…..

I also found Out that you can also get Similar effects using Derwent Inktense Water Soluble Pencils. Now they are not really “watercolor” pencils, because they are Actually INK in a pencil format, and remain Permanent after wetting then drying. SO, this is a much more expensive way? BUT they don’t “dry out” in the interim, and you can draw the whole thing out, and then water….OR you can do small areas at a time…… I made a swatch on watercolor paper so you can see the bright colors! Look:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I got the set of 72 for Christmas around 2 years ago for Half off, and they last a LONG time! Fantastic Colors too, Brilliant!  So while I Need to use the markers for the Class? maybe I can Play with my Pencils too! Just for me of course, My Grand Daughter is in 4H now in a Horse Program….maybe I will do her a Horse Shirt! It would be fun as well to do fun Sayings or Quotes In Inktense on some shirts for Adults! Or even Advertise…”I Made This” with your website on it too!

My Youngest Twin Grandsons birthdays were Yesterday, April 27th,  They are TWO already!! Where does the time go….

Eric and Lucas 2014

This is my Oldest Son Eric with his Nephew Lucas….WOW they look Alike!!

Ethan Lucas and Mommy

My Daughter is such a good Mommy, she has 4 kids now ages 11, 8, and 2 at 2.

Today was “one of those days” It stormed ALL day, its kind of nice? but we have flood warnings, someone said 5 inches? wow! but one clap of Thunder? felt like an earthquake this morning! I am quite sure it even shook our bed!  We also have A Tin roof on the house and deck, so it can get loud when the rain falls, but it again can be soothing sometimes! The one thing I think I am most Grateful for in having this house? is having a covered back deck (16 x 10). and Also have a sizable Privacy fenced back yard. So Grateful!!! OK….enough for now….I am going to Plop My Butt in a Chair and watch Movies/shows for a while.

I know its Monday again…..But we can do this, Right?! Be Back again Tomorrow!

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Dogs DO Learn New Tricks!

  1. Raine says:

    I LOVE how that t-shirt came out!

Leave a Reply

