I Want To Be An Artist……..

Yes….I want to Draw Like Her…..I want to Shade Like He does…….I want to Create books Like the one I saw on so and so’s blog……Sound Familiar?

I have been struggling for the last few days, over buying a product that I saw demonstrated on YouTube…..Why? For some silly reason there is a little voice inside me that keeps saying  “If You buy those you’ll be an even BETTER artist!”  What a Crock! I keep doing this to myself over and over. I own so many art supplies, some which were quite expensive, and there is only ONE thing…..ONE……that has made me a better artist. PRACTICE. and that my friends….Is FREE.

Whether we like it or not, there is no magic supply, or tool that will make us  a master at anything we can create or do, unless we practice and play, take chances! make MISTAKES! I say this to myself as well as anyone that is listening (reading) !  I see many artists creating something and want to make what they are making, and although I may come close it will never happen, simply because I am ME, My art must also be MINE before I feel accomplished. BUT…it is perfectly OK to emulate someone else’s art, when we see something we like it Inspires us! it sparks something inside us ! Wakes our Creative Soul! This is a GOOD thing! Nothing you can buy will make you better at what you want to do other than the most basic tools in your Field, a regular pencil and lined paper and a lot of practice is enough to make you better at drawing for instance, you don’t need a drafting table, or the best pencils, or the most expensive ink, or a new set of windows, a huge studio, ect……Use your kitchen table, copy paper (or lined even!) , and a number 2 pencil!

My struggle with getting the newest and best supplies has brought me to see this flaw in my thinking, I still want the new pens, but I think I will just wait a while longer, and stew on this realization. I need to reset my sails I think!

I hope Your weekend was full of enjoyment!!

About dhowell9000

50 years old, Happily Married to my soul mate, raised 5 children, have 6 grandchildren, Have 3 dogs and 3 cats (rescued all) Work Part time in a drugstore, and make Creative Stuff of all kinds in my Free Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment